Culinary Experiment #1: Peach Wontons

As I’ve mentioned in my About Me page, not only am I a bit of a foodie, but I’ve recently started a new “bucket list hobby project”.  A few months ago, I asked a few of my friends on Facebook to suggest different hobbies and activities for me to try out. One of the suggestions involved me cooking my way through a cookbook a la “Julie & Julia”.

But since I couldn’t find a cookbook that interested me (I didn’t want to be tied down by any sort of theme and there are so many themes in the world of cookbooks!) I compiled my own. I figured why not just use the thousands of online recipes I’ve bookmarked (and drooled over) but never bothered to use. I’ve since narrowed that collection down to include about 100 recipes in my “Hobbies Cookbook.”

And I’m starting off with Peach Wontons. I visited a friend in Athens, Ga. recently and we decided to have a baking/dance party. Cue the visions of dancing dorks, fried pastries and blaring rap music. Hey, it’s my dance party. Nelly’s “It’s Hot in Herre” may be a little cliche for a kitchen, but it makes me happy. So there.

The recipe we used can be found here. It’s a blog called “She Wears Many Hats.” In the interest of saving money, my friend and I did make a few changes to the recipe.

  1. Instead of fresh peaches, we used canned. We got the amount of peaches we needed with the added bonus of syrup. Which brings me to the next change….
  2. Since the peaches were already in thick syrup, we didn’t see a reason to use flour as a thickening agent.
             Upon tasting, they were pretty glorious. Crispy, sugary and filled with juicy peaches. It’s like a peach wrapped in a funnel cake. Eating these certainly calls for the addition of ice cream, fireworks and a ferris wheel ride.

3 thoughts on “Culinary Experiment #1: Peach Wontons

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.